April 20, 2006

Donny Hathaway - Everything is Everything (1970)

"Afterwards, he was a genius, but right then, he was just another guy tryin."
- Joel Dorn

This album was Donny's Reasonable Doubt. No record label pressure. No screaming fans. No sophomore slump. No expectations.

Donny Hathaway, along with Stevie, reinvented American soul music. Donny's rookie album took a Ray Charles track and improved it (I Believe to My Soul). The arrangements, the voice, the band, everything blended perfectly. His voice nearly overshadows his virtuosic keyboard skills.

A soul classic. An American classic. Don't sleep. For you hip hop fiends, find the samples.

1 - Everything is Everything
2 - Je Vous Aime
3 - I Believe to My Soul
4 - Misty
5 - Sugar lee
6 - Tryin Times
7 - Thank You Master
8 - The Ghetto
9 - To Be Young, Gifted, and Black
10 - A Dream


As a bonus, Donny wrote the greatest Christmas song, ever. It has actually been rigorously proven.



Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home